Is It Possible To Be Too Sensitive?

Alayna Doyal
4 min readDec 30, 2020
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Lately, I’ve been nose-diving my way into territory that is quite unknown to me.

Not literally, of course.

Social distancing regulations and COVID-19’s knack for infiltrating every square inch of our lives are single handedly disallowing me to go anywhere in a non-metaphorical sense.

But figuratively speaking, I’m currently dipping my toes in waters I’d yet to swim in until now.

And by this, I mean that I’m starting to let emotions see the light of day without trying to push them back into the cognitive cavity they originated from…which is uncomfortable, to say the least.

And not only am I allowing my feelings to introduce themselves and stay awhile, but in addition, I’m pushing through the society-inflicted shame that arises when you’re anything but happy-go-lucky.

My life has been a sequence of interactions in which person after person after person has told me I’m too sensitive.

And it has always perplexed me because…

Well, how in the world would they know?

Did you somehow connect yourself to my inner world?

If so, I digress.

Mad respect, if this is the case.

--

--

Alayna Doyal

writer | editor | poet | all things personal development ↠ alaynadoyal.com